[pgrouting-dev] APSP Implementation

Hi,

I am Jay Mahadeokar, Computer Science MTech Student at Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur.

I am interested in contributing to pgRouting and was looking at APSP implementation. I have discussed this with Mr. Daniel Kastl and we thought it would be better to float the ideas on the dev mailing list.

For the APSP implementation, I read the boost documentation, and it has implemented APSP using Johnsons algorithm as well as Warshall’s Algorithm. Which one should we look at? To implement it for pgRouting, we will need to code a boost_wrapper function (which will call the actual boost apsp function) and one outer APSP function which will use the executor/SPI to query database and call the wrapper (similar to the dijkestra’s implementation). Please correct me if I am wrong.

It would also be helpful to come up with a concrete prototype for the function. The initial RFC is drafted here: http://www.pgrouting.org/rfc/rfc-03.html

Since I am new to this community, I would like to know the development tools and conventions used.

Regards,
-Jay Mahadeokar

On 12/1/2010 9:08 AM, Jay Mahadeokar wrote:

Hi,

I am Jay Mahadeokar, Computer Science MTech Student at Indian Institute
of Technology, Kanpur.

I am interested in contributing to pgRouting and was looking at APSP
implementation. I have discussed this with Mr. Daniel Kastl and we
thought it would be better to float the ideas on the dev mailing list.

Greeting Jay,

I think this would be an excellent addition to pgRouting. I have been interested in seeing an algorithm like this added, as it is a good precursor to feed data to TSP problem using a simulated annealing algorithm.

For the APSP implementation, I read the boost documentation, and it has
implemented APSP using Johnsons algorithm as well as Warshall's
Algorithm. Which one should we look at? To implement it for pgRouting,
we will need to code a boost_wrapper function (which will call the